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Q-COLLAR 
• The FDA has authorized marketing of a new device intended to be worn around the neck 

of athletes aged 13 years and older during sports activities to aid in the protection of the 
brain from the potential effects associated with repetitive sub-concussive head impacts. 
The non-invasive device is called the Q-Collar. 

  
• From a medical perspective, the NFHS Sports Medicine Advisory Committee consents to 

this device being worn by interscholastic athletes. 
 
• The device is approved for use in football.  
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RULES INTERPRETATIONS 
Clock Operators: 
Officials are reminded to ask game management to have clock operators meet with the Referee at 
least 30 minutes prior to kick off.  Remind game management that this should take place even if 
the clock operators have been running the clocks for years.  This will help ensure a smooth game 
for all. 
 
Also, if the clock operators are given or bring their own O2O’s they are not to officiate for on-field 
officials.  The O2O’s in the box is “only” to aid if any clock issues arise.  We have had reports of 
clock operators thinking they are aiding the crew, that is not their responsibility.  Crews should 
have an alternative channel to move to if this happens by simply saying “move channel”.   
 
Momentum: 
The question has been asked “can we have momentum on a free kick?  An example of this would 
be A’s free kick is between R’s 5 and the GL where B1 catches (Rule 2-1&2) and his original momen-
tum carries him into the endzone.  Can B1 after possessing the ball between the 5 and GL run/
return the ball out of the endzone?  Yes, this is not a touchback as the kick is over once the catch is 
complete and possession gained.  B1 has the opportunity to run the ball out of the endzone, if he 
leaves the endzone, then retreats back into the endzone where the ball is declared dead this re-
sults in a safety.  The covering official must determine where the kick ended and drop his bean bag 
at that spot in the field of play if ruling momentum or the endzone if ruling a touchback. 
 
KCI: 
Play: K1’s free kick travels 15 yards, R1 leaps into the air possess the ball while still in the air is hit 
by K2 where R1 looses possession.  K4 then recovers the ball. 
 
Ruling: R1 has been afforded the unobstructed path to the ball, therefore there is no KCI.  R1 has 
not completed the catch (2-1 & 2) therefore it is not a fumble.  As we look at rule 6-5-6 K only has 
to afford R the opportunity to make the catch not complete it.  So, with the touching of the kick by 
R, K is now eligible to recover/possess but not advance the ball. It will be K’s ball 1/10. 
 
Mouthpieces:  
Officials are reminded - if a player is wearing a “Second Mouthpiece”, they are to be instructed to 
remove it.  Make sure you tell the coach if the player returns wearing the second mouthpiece after 
being instructed to remove it, assess an UNS to the Head Coach will be assessed for improper 
adornment to the player uniform.  Not only does this call attention to the player, but it also creates 
an illusion that the player is not wearing the proper equipment and, it presents a safety hazard as 
well.   
 
Training Video: 
https://youtu.be/cXxAHUVyZ00 

https://youtu.be/cXxAHUVyZ00

